Welcome To The Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board

The office of the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board is open Monday through Friday from 8am until 4:30pm.

Announcement – Optional Social Work Census from ASWB

The Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB), in collaboration with the Social Work Workforce Coalition, has launched the first-ever Social Work Census across the United States and Canada. This optional Census is a large-scale survey of individuals in the social work profession, including currently licensed social workers (permanent and temporary licenses), individuals previously licensed as social workers, social work educators, social work students, and others who work in the social work field. The data from this Census will be aggregated and used to develop a comprehensive and up-to-date picture of who social workers are and what they do, for the purpose of creating a workforce study and creating a practice analysis to aid ASWB in designing the next iteration of social work licensing examinations.

While this census is optional, the Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board is encouraging social workers licensed with a permanent license or temporary license to participate in the Census. To participate in the Social Work Census, please visit SWCensus.org. The deadline to participate in the Census is May 31, 2024. Individuals with questions on the survey should contact representatives from ASWB at questions@SWCensus.org More information on how the data from the social work census will be used is located at https://swcensus.org/social-workers-count-2/how-will-the-social-work-census-data-be-used/

Announcement – Enactment of Social Work Multi-State Licensure Compact Legislation (HB 2484)

The Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board is pleased to announce that HB 2484, the Social Work Multi-State Compact, was signed into law in Kansas on April 12, 2024. Kansas was the 7th state to enact the compact legislation, so this means that the Compact Commission will be able to meet later this fall to begin to develop the operating rules for the Compact. At this time, we cannot provide an estimated date of implementation for the compact, but we will provide more information as it becomes available.

More information on the social work compact can be found at the compact website at swcompact.org.

ANNOUNCEMENT –Student Temporary Addiction Counselor Licenses, Community-Based Licenses, and Temporary Candidacy Social Work Licenses

Beginning on Friday, August 18, 2023, the BSRB is accepting applications for several new licenses offered by the agency. Please see the attached message with more information on these new license types.

BSRB Announcement on New License Types

ANNOUNCEMENT - Fee Decrease - All Traditional Temporary Licenses Decreased to $50

The Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board is pleased to announce that the Board implemented a temporary regulation to decrease fees for certain temporary licenses, made effective as a permanent regulation on November 17, 2023. Beginning July 14, 2023, the price for all newly issued traditional temporary licenses has been lowered to $50.

PSYPACT – Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact

BSRB Q&A on PSYPACT Updated on May 13, 2022

Effective January 1, 2022, Kansas officially joined the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact, also known as PSYPACT. PSYPACT is an interstate compact that allows Licensed Psychologists, who list Kansas as their home-state, to submit applications to PSYPACT for approval to practice telepsychology and/or practice temporarily in-person in other PSYPACT participating states. Information answering common PSYPACT questions is located at https://psypact.site-ym.com/page/appfaq.

Applications to practice under PSYPACT should be made to PSYPACT at https://psypact.site-ym.com/. The Kansas BSRB assists with verifications and other matters involving PSYPACT, but does not approve applications to practice under PSYPACT. Please be sure to submit all PSYPACT applications directly to PSYPACT, not to the BSRB office. In order to practice telepsychology under the authority of PSYPACT, a Kansas Licensed Psychologist must obtain and hold an active Authority to Practice Interjurisdictional Telepsychology (APIT) granted by the PSYPACT Commission. In order to practice temporarily in-person in other states under the authority of PSYPACT, a Kansas Licensed Psychologist must obtain and hold an active Temporary Authorization to Practice (TAP) granted by the PSYPACT Commission. A list of all Licensed Psychologists holding a current APIT or TAP can be found at https://www.verifypsypact.org/.

If you have any questions or need any additional information from PSYPACT, please send a message to info@psypact.org. Note: Master’s Level Psychologists and Clinical Psychotherapists are not eligible to submit applications to participate under the authority of PSYPACT. If you have other questions, please send a message to the Kansas PSYPACT Commissioner and Executive Director for the BSRB, David Fye, at david.fye@ks.gov.

ANNOUNCEMENT – Enactment of 2023 Sub. for SB 131

The Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board is pleased to announce the enactment of 2023 Sub. for SB 131, a bill which includes many helpful statutory changes affecting current licensees and aspiring licensees while maintaining essential protection of the public. Click Here to view the document which includes a short summary of the changes in the bill.

ANNOUNCEMENT – Enactment of 2023 HB 2288 (Professional Counseling Multi-State Compact)

The Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board is pleased to announce the enactment of 2023 HB 2288, a bill which adds Kansas to the Professional Counseling Multi-State Compact. The effective date for the bill is July 1, 2023. The Board has appointed Board member Laura Shaughnessy as the Compact Commissioner for the state of Kansas.

The Compact Commission is currently in the process of developing the infrastructure for Compact states to begin offering privileges to practice in other Compact states, upon application to the Compact Commission for such privileges to practice. Once fully launched, the Counseling Compact will offer eligible clinically licensed professional counselors a new method for providing services in other member states. If you are interested in learning more about the Counseling Compact, including information about meetings, rulemaking, and any rules open for public comment, please use the following link: https://counselingcompact.org/compact-commission/

New information has been added to the website for the Counseling Compact to address frequently asked questions. That information can be accessed at Counseling Compact FAQ

New Secure Payment Portal

The BSRB is proud to launch the new State of Kansas secure payment portal for credit card payments and electronic checks.  For more information please click HERE.


Click Here for helpful information.

If you would like to renew by paper here is a direct link to the forms on our website: https://ksbsrb.ks.gov/forms

If you would like to renew online here is a direct link to our online renewal site:  https://licensing.ks.gov/EGOV_BSRB/PersonSearchResults.aspx 

Upcoming Events


Get Involved!

Be a public health volunteer!
Register with SERV-KS